Small things …

Tonight, two former students randomly contacted me to ask for help with math. They both graduated high school at least five years ago but apparently thought of me when they needed help. One still lives locally wants to meet me at school tomorrow during my planning to help prepare for the GRE math section. The other called me once from the Super Bowl to thank me for helping get him there; he had gotten a job a few years after high school graduation that used basic/minimal math (redesigning the layout of large retail stores or something like that) and was doing well enough that his boss gave him tickets as a reward. Several years later we reconnected again via social networking, he thanked me again for helping him earn his ‘first million;’ he’s now a small business owner (not to mention happily married with kids) in a state far away from here. He’s finally getting around to finishing a degree and wants help in college algebra or a similar class.

 

Now I remember yet again why the daily grind is worth it … I just hope I’m forging the same kind of connections with some of my current students and just need a little more time to pass before I realize it …

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Small things …

  1. No calculator on the GRE … that was when I learned how little arithmetic my daughter really knew..

  2. Those are great stories! Thanks for sharing. That’s one downside to teaching elementary school – so many students won’t even remember I was their teacher!
    Case in point, I was at dinner with some friends who have taught for many years. One of them recognized the waiter as one of her former students. She called out his name and said, “Do you know who I am?”
    He looked blankly at her.
    “You don’t remember?”
    Blank stare.
    “I was your third grade teacher!”
    His response, “Oh, I don’t really remember much before 5th grade.”
    Cue sad music.
    It is great to hear stories of times when students do remember (and even appreciate!) their teachers. Thanks again for sharing and I hope you have many more of stories like that to share over time. :-)

    • My wife is an elementary school teacher, and we’ve now been teaching long enough that her first class are seniors. A lot of my high school students have fond memories of her class (she’s taught 3rd, 4th, and 5th); many will outright tell me they prefer her to me! I totally understand what you mean though – I don’t remember much of elementary school at all. I also find that most of my own memories of high school are already gone (and I’m not even that old) because I’ve now been in high school nearly an extra decade!

Leave a Reply

